now is a good time to panic


opiates vs sex
13 September 2012, 12:00 pm
Filed under: food!

So we all know that chocolate stimulates the same pleasure centers in your brain as sex does. This is old news. Not particularly exciting news to me, but okay. I can see that. Especially when I find myself presented with a little display rack of Godiva dark chocolate with raspberries while I’m out shopping. That shit is INCREDIBLE. It’s really the only chocolate I can get legitimately excited about.

Today, I found out something more. Something that EXPLAINS EVERYTHING.

I recently found out that the casien in cheese is chemically similar to opiates.

Well, that explains it. I LOVE cheese. I would take cheese over chocolate any day of the week. Going my by own (possibly convoluted) logic, I would clearly rather go to an opium den than a whorehouse. Interesting.
Here’s the science:

“The primary protein in milk is casein. When the human body digests casein, it produces casomorphins, which have an opiate-like effect on humans. Because cheese is denser than, for example, milk, the casein is more heavily concentrated, meaning that eating cheese produces a larger amount of casomorphins in the body compared to eating other dairy products.”

(whole story found here)
The rest of the article goes on to worry about calories and to recommend that the next time you are in the dairy aisle, to opt for a yogurt. Heresy! Nobody cares about calories when it comes to cheese. Well, I don’t anyway. I guess the rest of you might. But anyway, how interesting is that? I had no idea. This doesn’t make me want to give cheese up or anything. Hell, I’m not even going to view it with suspicion.

 

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This explains why my wife will eat a block of cheese…

Comment by Marc Silver

…better than eating four pounds of chocolate and sitting alone in a dark room while furiously masturbating and sobbing. She could be doing that. I’m pretty sure that’s just you, though.

Comment by kathelldorfer

I, too, love cheese and will always, always choose it over chocolate. I have yet to meet a cheese that I don’t like.

Comment by ifUseekAmy

You know what is delicious? Eating chocolate AND cheese together!!! Yes, you heard it right. My dad went over to the Netherlands when he was in the Air Force & learned about chocolate & cheese sandwiches. SOOOO good. Maybe the whole opiate thing is why I love them both. But then, like you as well…I’ll definitely pick cheese over chocolate.

Comment by triing2survive

Yeah, I knew cheese was a problem, i do eat it, but in moderation. If I use it as a protein source, I get into all kinds of digestion issues, I think I’m allergic.
I read about the opiate issue with cheese and your brain a few years ago and was so shocked, I resolved not to let food control me. I have good days and bad ones practicing that philosophy.

Comment by susan




I'm dying to hear what you have to say...

