now is a good time to panic


olympic cold sweats

…similar to Olympic fever. Except for people that aren’t actually into the Olympics. Like me. My mom has always enjoyed the gymnastics and my grandmother missed her destiny as a figure skating judge. My grandmother was always right on the nose with the judges ratings. She clearly missed her calling.

I, on the other hand… not so much interest. If I’m in the living room and someone turns on the men’s floor routines, I won’t get up and walk out. I just don’t have any interest. I do realize that I’m in the minority here. I admire the years and years of social deprivation, physical dedication, and insane amount of hours per day that they have invested in their sport. Or ‘sport’, depending on your feelings regarding badminton.

For those of you (like Abbey) that ARE totally into the Olympics, however, I have a little something special for you. It’s a web app called Medal Count (also available in a mobile version). Medal Count is a leaderboard that displays Olympic wins listed by country, and showing the overall ranking of each. You can add individual countries to keep an eye on, and enable audio alerts so that each time the leaderboard is updated in regards to one of your chosen countries, there’s a little *kaching!*. Right now they’re working on adding a feature that will show more details for which medals were awarded for which events. Which is awesome.

I know I’m in the minority here, and I don’t make a big thing out of it. Frankly, nobody cares about my disinterest. They just want to cheer for their countries and have a great time. Here’s a drinking game to assist you all in doing so :)

 

 

*thanks to Cheezburger for the awesome infographic!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Will pass on the drinking game. I was tickled you remembered Mom mom’s penchant for figure skating judging; she could always spot a perfect score.
xxx

Comment by susan




I'm dying to hear what you have to say...

