now is a good time to panic


back to the gym
31 July 2012, 8:30 am
Filed under: gymming | Tags: , , ,

With everything going on lately, I’ve been thinking a lot about going back to the gym. I haven’t been for a few months, due to the upheaval in my life. When I do go, I feel much better. I have endorphins pumping through me, I feel good about myself, and I need to lose weight, anyway.
Since I don’t have a car, the VA gave me paperwork to get a discounted bus pass. Instead of $2.50/ride, it cost me $2.50/month. I paid $30 and they gave me a pass that doesn’t expire for a year. Barbara took me to get my shiny new pass on Monday. Naturally, the first thing I did was look up routes to the gym on base. What is a 20 minute drive to Hickam AFB is a three hour round trip on TheBus. Holy. Shit. A three hour round trip for a 45 minute workout. That doesn’t include wait times, because TheBus only comes once every 45 minutes or so. Not to complain or anything, but that seems a bit excessive to me.

Next I searched the area for the closest gym. There’s a 24 Hr Fitness that’s a 2.5 mile bike ride (or a 20 minute bus ride) from where I’m living. Which is much more reasonable… but it’s about $50 a month. Because of my health issues, I can only go like three times a week. That works out to $4.17 per visit. Now I need to weigh whether that’s money that I can spend on something that isn’t essential. It’s a hard choice to make. Do I spend that money on something that I don’t absolutely need, or do I save it, knowing that I’ll be $50 closer to getting myself, my dog, and my stuff the hell off of this island.

Self care is important, but so is planning for the future. It’s a tough decision.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



I'm dying to hear what you have to say...

