now is a good time to panic


loaded baked potato soup

On Thursday night my friend Danny came over for dinner. We were stationed together in Japan, and had plenty of stories to tell… mostly after the kids had already left the table. For dinner I made a big pot of loaded baked potato soup. When I told Abbey what I was making, she got really excited so I thought maybe I’d share my recipe. I’m not good with exact amounts, so I guesstimated pretty much everything.

Ingredients:

potatoes/soup mix

package of bacon

milk

butter

shredded cheddar

broccoli

onions

garlic

chicken

flour

salt, pepper, and whatever else sounds good

First, the base. I like to use two packages of Bear Creek Country Potato Soup Mix, but couldn’t find any at Walmart on Wednesday… and didn’t feel like shopping around. Instead I ended up baking a dozen potatoes in the oven in tin foil and dicing them up, then tossing them in a big ass pot with a few cups of milk. Three or four cups, I think. Liberally throw in some salt and pepper and turn the burner on low so it can start to cook.

I like to throw in chicken and broccoli, too, that way the soup is a whole meal. I diced and sauteed about 2.5 lbs of chicken and seasoned with salt and pepper and some Italian seasonings I found in the pantry. The chunks were about .5×1 inch or so… small enough to be bite sized, but not small enough to require me to stand at the counter dicing poultry indefinitely. While the chicken was cooking, I threw two big frozen family size packages of broccoli spears into a pot and boiled them. That pot also got some dried minced onion and a liberal amount of chopped garlic. You can never have too much garlic. After the chicken and broccoli are done, roughly chop the broccoli up and throw both ingredients into the pot with the simmering potato and milk.

Fry up a package of bacon. I used turkey bacon, because that’s what we had. I like it crispy; it adds texture. Once it’s fried, give it a quick chop and toss that into the pot, too. Don’t get rid of the grease in the pan. You need it.

Dice up two fairly large yellow onions. I used vidalia, and it turned out well. Put the onions into the bacon grease and add more garlic. You can never have too much, remember? Once the onion starts to soften and caramelize, whisk in 1/2 c of flour, three tablespoons of melted butter, and three cups of milk.* Once you have a nice thick sauce, dump that into the potato pot and stir everything up. Add some shredded cheddar cheese- about 2c.

Let everything simmer for a while, stirring every once in a while so that nothing burns and sticks to the bottom of the pot, because that’s gross. Once everyone is hungry, then serve it up, throw some shredded cheese on top, and dig in.

Sorry about the approximations. That’s just how I cook. :)

*instead of the 3T melted butter and 3 c milk, you can use 3c of half and half cream. That’s a lot of extra calories, though

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

My mouth is watering that sounds so good!

Comment by triing2survive




I'm dying to hear what you have to say...

