now is a good time to panic


my dad
21 July 2012, 8:30 am
Filed under: nonsense | Tags: , , ,

Today is my dad’s birthday. He’s awesome. My twisted sense of humor is from him, as are my eyes and my impatience with idiots. I’ve spent my entire life watching him treat my mother fabulously and with the utmost love and respect. Actually, now that I’m thinking about it, he treats all women with the utmost respect. Even the ones that make him absolutely crazy.

Anyway. I digress. I grew up watching my father be loving and supportive for my mother. He carries suitcases and shopping bags, waits patiently for her on all shopping trips and impromptu social situations, encouraged every single one of her crazy artistic endeavors, and is just an all around great guy. I am engaged in a perpetual search for a significant other that is even half the man my father is. It’s hard, though, because I really prefer men that are close to my own age… not to be picky or anything, but 60 is a bit too old for me.

There are plenty of good men out there, don’t get me wrong. They just don’t seem to be plentiful while being simultaneously available AND in my age bracket. This got me thinking. We used to have male heartthrobs that were MEN. Think Elvis, James Dean, Cary Grant. Now who do we have? Justin Bieber. Seriously? Seriously. Is this really what we’ve been reduced to?

Here’s a related article for you to roll your eyes at…

I’m very disappointed in you, Blake Shelton. Very disappointed.

Anyway. A generation ago, men pulled out chairs, opened doors, stood when women entered or left a room, and carried bags. Now we have little emo boys with floppy hair that wear skinny jeans and eyeliner and can’t lift a tissue box- let alone a lady’s luggage. What is going on, America? We’ve made such awesome strides in equal rights for gays and minorities and women’s liberation, along with amazing technological advances… can we stop going backwards on this one issue?

We need to step it up, you guys. Please. The single women of the world are begging you. If you need help, my father can give you some lessons. If you do not need these lessons, then help out someone who does.. there are plenty of males in need.

image

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Happy birthday to your dad! He sounds like an awesome guy! I agree with you on everything else. To only find a man, in my age group, that has those same qualities, I would feel like I’ve hit the jackpot!

Comment by triing2survive

Yeah, no kidding. It’s a perpetual search, rife with excitement and devastation, in turn.

Comment by kathelldorfer

You are right, of course. Your Dad is as close to perfection as one can hope to meet. You would do well to ignore the Justin Beibers of this generation and look for a good old fashioned guy like him. I’m pretty satisfied!
xxx

Comment by susan

Yeah, too bad he’s a) out of my acceptable age range b) my father and c) taken. I guess the rest of us will just have to keep searching :( Congratulations on your find, though, mom.

Comment by kathelldorfer




I'm dying to hear what you have to say...

