now is a good time to panic


validation, part II
3 July 2012, 8:30 am
Filed under: therapy | Tags: , , ,

This is a continuation from Sunday’s post… we were discussing being able to feel good about yourself without external validation. Despite my dislike of them, I actually spend a decent amount of time around people that are not old enough to buy liquor or even vote. I’ve noticed that the younger you are, the more validation you need. This makes total sense to me. Kids are still discovering themselves, and the encouragement that their parents give them is a positive thing. It’s needed for them to develop into healthy adults. 

There are plenty of adults I’ve come across that need external reassurance. You know, like the women that will sleep with any man they come across just to feel good about themselves. Those just make me tired. I just recently found out that one of my friends is one of those women.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m not judging her. She’s completely grown, and is entitled to make her own choices in life. My problem is that I was dragged into it. I was actually put in danger last week so she can get some strange dick. It was extremely uncool and I’ll tell you about it later because it’s a lot to type and I’m lazy.

So anyway. Alison and I have been working on my validation issues. It’s hard for me to think good things about myself without someone else saying them. That’s not fair to myself or to the men I date, my friends, or my family. It shouldn’t be their job to stroke my ego or self esteem. Alison wants me to write one self validation statement every day. I’ve been doing my best, but I don’t think that the things I’m writing are what her psych textbooks from college had in mind when they created the exercise. I know she wants me to write ‘I’m smart. I’m beautiful. I’m a good person.’ You know, bullshit like that. Instead my little notebook is being filled with statements like

‘I gave my last $5 to a homeless guy today. I didn’t make him sing a song or do a dance or anything. I didn’t even think of it until I lad already walked away. I’m a fucking philanthropist, yo.’

‘My cleavage looked AMAZING in that top tonight. I’m going to start wearing that shit like every day.’

‘I have been at Barbara’s house for like five days now and I haven’t drowned, strangled, OR set any of her three kids on fire. They’d better start the ceremony to cannonize me for sainthood and reserve my cloud in heaven RIGHT NOW.’

But hey, at least I’m doing the exercises. If Alison says it’ll work, then let’s do this shit.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Way to go Katie!! But remember you are smart, beautiful,and kind! Also your boobs look great in any shirt!!!!

Comment by kathy

Aaawww, Kathy! My boobs think you look great, too lol
You’re so sweet. Thank you.

Comment by kathelldorfer




I'm dying to hear what you have to say...

