now is a good time to panic


the bitches… they be trippin
4 May 2012, 11:59 am
Filed under: hawaii, life in general, nonsense | Tags: , , , , ,

I moved this week. It wasn’t fun, and my new place is a tight squeeze, but that’s cool. I have my own room with a sliding glass door out to a balcony… and I’m the only one that uses the hugemangous deck attached to it. Sweet.

I got two free bamboo patio chairs off of craigslist, and the only catch is that they have no cushions. Cara and I bought a case of beer and decided we wanted to come back here to drink it on the deck. It’s breezy and cool out, and a gorgeous night. Before we could put our plan into action, we stopped at Home Depot to pick up some cushions for my awesome new chairs. We went into the lawn and garden section and they want like $80 for a damned chair cushion! They have lost their freaking minds. After that we went to K-Mart and checked out their selection. Not much better. Everything that was in my price range was super thin and/or too small to fit my new chairs and/or ugly as hell. Usually all three.

Finally I just bought two acceptable ones for $30 each (still out of my budget) and we left. We got them back to the house and they’re too small, so I left the tags on. I’ll be keeping my eye out for better, bigger ones on craigslist or on sale at Ross. If nothing else, I can go buy the foam and some indoor/outdoor fabric and get Pam to sew it up for me. She’ll do a nicer job than the crap at Home Depot, anyway :)

Either way, summer is coming, so I need to get on this.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Awesome sauce!!! I want pics of the new place!

Comment by Dawn Montgomery

HOLY HELL!!! $80 for a chair cushion? That’s insane! Glad you’re liking your new place & you have an awesome balcony to sit out on.

Comment by triing2survive

make your own, that way you can pick some wacky-ass fabric!

Comment by Jo

I bought cushions for my adirondack chairs at Target for $10 each a couple years ago. I think they were $15 regular priced but on sale and for $10 that was a lot cheaper than what I could have bought the foam and outdoor fabric for. JoAnn drives me crazy with how expensive their fabric is. Sometimes I wonder how making your own stuff is cheaper any more. I mean it’s cool if you find the *perfect* fabric but otherwise I’d rather save the $$$. Not sure how close the new place is to the Target in Honolulu but I’d keep an eye on the sales flyer.

Comment by Christine D. Leonard-Whitcomb

I think I’m going to have to wait until the end of the summer… which never happens here. The problem is that my chairs are huge-mangous, so the regular cushions are a joke. My chairs scorn regular cushions. My friend Cara donated two of her older cushions, and they’re still not big enough… they work, though. I’m not going to win any beautiful deck furniture awards, but at least now I have somewhere to sit.

Comment by kathelldorfer




I'm dying to hear what you have to say...

