now is a good time to panic


lava tunnel
5 April 2012, 10:12 am
Filed under: hawaii, life in general | Tags: , , , , , , ,

So on Tuesday I gallivanted around the island with one of my friends, and he showed me the most awesome thing ever… it’s a lava tunnel. The island that I live on is Oahu, and it’s formed by two volcanoes- Wai’anae and Ko’olau. Lava tunnels are formed when a volcano forces lava through the the earth instead of up to the surface.

If my friend didn’t already know about it, we never would have known it was there. We pulled off and parked at a lookout point near Makapu’u and walked for a few minutes. After jumping the guardrail and walking down the embankment, this is what I saw:

I was like ‘Are you serious right now? We’re going to climb down there and you’re going to rape me and murder me and leave me for dead.’ He assured me that was not in the plan, and he went down first. After getting to the bottom, I was looking at the entrance to a very creepy tunnel:

This is clearly the perfect place to leave my body.

Creepy, yet awesome. There’s a lot of trust here. Walking through the tunnel, we emerge to find this behind us:

…and this in front of us:

Gorgeous.

Here’s a few pictures, just so you can be 100% completely and totally jealous ;)

It was hot as hell outside and if we had towels in the car, I definitely would have stripped to my unmentionables and dove in. Just standing there feeling the spray from the crashing waves was only making it worse. After sitting/walking/climbing around for about 45 minutes, we conceded that jumping in was only going to leave us sandy, salty, wet, and uncomfortable for the remainder of the day, and headed back to the car. 

It was pretty awesome, and I haven’t been able to find anyone who knows about it, or any information about it. It seems to be one of those things that only locals know about, and they’re apparently not sharing the secret. I’m pretty positive that knowing about this makes me special :)

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hell yeah it makes you special!!! That is absolutely gorgeous!!!

Comment by triing2survive

I wish the pictures could convey the beauty of it… it was amazing.

Comment by kathelldorfer

And I am jealous, indeed. What an adventure you enjoyed. today the temps are in the low 40s and the wind has white caps on the St.Mary’s river and our creek. Enjoy your wonderful adventures and the lovely weather. It is very different here!

Comment by Susan




I'm dying to hear what you have to say...

