now is a good time to panic


lady dates
1 April 2012, 5:58 pm
Filed under: life in general | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I don’t know about the rest of you, but I like to mix things up with a lady date now and then. This isn’t quite like hanging out with girlfriends. It’s doing things with a girlfriend that are normally reserved for romantic-type relationships. Living here in Hawaii, I typically do these things with my friend Chandra (hello, Chandra!). We had a lady date last night, and it was super. Chandra and her son Jordan invited me to dinner and a movie. We went to California Pizza Kitchen where, in true date style, we shared a pizza and an appetizer. (for the CPK freaks reading, it was the five cheese, tomato and basil pizza and the appetizer was their avocado, chicken and bacon egg roll things. YUM-O.) Jordan had pepperoni pizza because he’s boring like that, and then we went to see a movie. I got to choose, so we saw the Hunger Games.

Our stars were aligned, so we were able to buy tickets and walk into the movie at that sweet spot when the trailers were ending and the movie was beginning. Nice. I really enjoyed the movie. This statement is going to shock all of you that know me personally, because for the first time in my entire life, I need to admit… I have not read the books that the Hunger Games movie (soon to be movies) have been based upon. Shocker, I know. Usually I read the books years before anyone actually does anything with the movie rights that they have purchased. Then they proceed to destroy the integrity of the book. I don’t really care, though, because millions of people are happy and everyone involved makes some money out of the deal. Whatever. I don’t really get worked up over ‘the book was SO much better than the movie’ or ‘Hollywood has really (insert any insulting verb here) that one up’ or ‘I feel sorry for all the people in that theater that have no idea that was a book first’. Feel free to speak all of these sentences as condescendingly as possibly, to squeeze maximum obnoxiousness out of sharing your opinion.

The point I’m attempting to make is that I am now intrigued and would like to read the books. Don’t get me wrong… I’m not actually going to buy them or anything. I’ll probably use my next Amazon gift card (LOVE those things!) to get them on my kindle, or check them out from the library, or guilt trip a friend into letting me borrow their copies. Chandra informed me that they did a fair job sticking to the books, which is nice to know. Usually substantial chunks of plot, character development, or even entire characters have been cut. This makes sense to me, but apparently offends a great number of people. I’m really sorry you guys, but if directors were to include everything that was in the original book, the movie (based on any given book, not necessarily The Hunger Games) would have to come in a dvd boxed set of like 14 discs and would be like 32 hours long. There is just way too much to squeeze in, especially since the average American’s attention span is like 2.5 minutes to begin with.

Back to the lady dates. I LOVE lady dates. I’ve been doing them for years (you girls all know who you are), and they’re like 100% enjoyable. You get all the fun date stuff, the guarantee of a great time, the Friday or Saturday night anticipation, but without everything else… the sweaty hand holding, the weird first date silences during the meal, and the awkward end of night kiss-or-no-kiss-or-hug-or-maybe-bizarre-overly-formal-handshake dilemma when you’re finished. You DO need to send a follow up text/phone call/email in the next 24 hours, but that’s only required of you actually had a good time.

All right, you guys. This is already way too long. I hope your weekend went as well as mine did!

xoxo

Katie

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I do kind of miss the manis-and-pedis-at-a-probably-whorehouse dates, LOL.

Comment by Jo

Hahaha I miss those, too. Also our stitch-n-bitch sessions. But fyi… there’s no probably about it. That place was definitely a whorehouse. They did give one hell of a steam and peel facial, though. For real.

Comment by kathelldorfer

You should probably read the the hunger games books.. they are awesome :)

Comment by Jeyna Grace

I finally gave in and ordered them for my kindle today… I found the trilogy on Amazon for $18 :) I’m excited to start reading them, but I’m putting it off as long as I possibly can in order to build anticipation… because I’m totally a freak like that lol

Comment by kathelldorfer

To read this comment correctly, use your best “Jewish mother” voice… So when ya bringing her home to meet your parents?

Comment by Dad

hahaha that’s actually really funny, because she invited me to california to stay with her mother the next time she and jordan go to visit :)

Comment by kathelldorfer

These lady dates sound fun. I’m going to have to try & get some of my friends to do this.

Comment by triing2survive

They are definitely super duper fun. I completely support your idea of trying it for yourself. :)

Comment by kathelldorfer




I'm dying to hear what you have to say...

