now is a good time to panic


boxes all up in this piece
22 March 2012, 8:30 am
Filed under: life in general | Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

I (very) recently filled the great room of Jeff and Kathy’s house with boxes. When I left Japan almost four years ago, I had my household goods put into storage. A house full of stuff would just not have fit in my dorm room in Turkey. I’ve been going through the boxes a few at a time, and yesterday afternoon I put in several long, hot, dusty hours going through the rest of them. For much of the time, Kathy sat and kept me company and reaped the rewards. I think she ended up with a leather pull out sofa, a leather sectional couch, a vintage brass floor lamp, a white coach purse, assorted clothing and jewelry, a brand new food processor (one of the nice ones), new toaster, two tvs, some bookcases, and a top of the line schmancy crockpot. She’s a happy woman today.

She’s not the only happy woman, though. Giving her so many things seriously cut down on my costs to ship it all when I leave the island. I’m not made of money, you guys. I’m so relieved to be finished going through all that stuff. There were a lot of happy memories in there, and some not-so-happy ones, so it pretty much balanced out… but was still quite draining. I was completely exhausted at the end, and my back is killing me, but I’m totally triumphant. There’s nothing like the feeling of a long-put-off project finally finished.

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Katie Thanks for all the free stuff it Was retail therapy for the poor person. I can’t believe I now own a coach purse It will probably live in my closet because I’m scared to carry it around. Mopar enjoyed his teddy bear he got to chew to pieces. So I think all and all we had a good day yesterday Happy Katie happy Kathy really happy mopar.

Comment by Kathy

Are you relocating soon or just preparing?

Comment by Jo

Preparing. I’m thinking sometime around like Thanksgiving. :) Haven’t made any plans yet.

Comment by kathelldorfer

I am so envious of you all organized and sorted. I get the bug, do it for a few days and then stop to ‘meditate,’ I do plan to do better in the future, though.You know how well I plan:)
xxx

Comment by Susan

Any idea on when you plan to leave, love?

Comment by Dawn Montgomery

I’m thinking around Thanksgiving time frame… need some time to get myself together, first :)

Comment by kathelldorfer




I'm dying to hear what you have to say...

