now is a good time to panic


git yer learnin on
20 March 2012, 10:03 am
Filed under: learning | Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve been procrastinating in terms of school since I got out of the military. Thanks to my friend Jess’ encouragement, I was CLEPing classes left and right, and was involved in school. Once I retired, I kind of stopped. Without her there, I let my anxiety take over and quickly became overwhelmed with the whole idea.

Yesterday was a big day for me. I went to the Education Office here on base and requested for my transcripts to be sent to UMUC… for some reason, most of the CLEPs I did were never sent to them. Thanks, Incirlik. Way to suck. I’m glad I passed all of them with flying colors (not in any small part to Jess’ help in the psych 101 study sessions), so I don’t have to re-take any, but still.

On Thursday I’m going back to see the UMUC rep (she only comes once a week) so that I can declare my major, sign up for my courseload, and make it official. I’m so excited! I’ve decided on Marketing with a minor in Psych, which is pretty much what I was studying before I joined the military. This is a serious commitment, but I think I’m up to it. If it turns out that I’m not, I’ll be sure to clearly document my nervous breakdown on this blog for your entertainment :)

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Katie – go for your dreams girl! I’m proud of you!

Comment by Gaby Nario

i’m pretty excited and nervous and excited and nervous lol :)

Comment by kathelldorfer

There will be no nervous breakdown. There will be you finally settling down to do what you were born to do; communicate your ideas through text and images that surprise, delight and makes the average person long to have you skill and vision.- the talents you were born with, darlin’
go get ’em Katie.

Comment by Susan

Make sure you declare your major in a dramatic fashion. I suggest you climb on her desk and make a pronouncement, “I HEREBY DECLARE TO ALL THOSE PRESENT THAT MY MAJOR SHALL BE UNDERWATER BASKET WEAVING!!”

Comment by Jo

AWESOME!!!! So glad you did it hon!!! LOL @ Jo.

Comment by Dawn Montgomery




I'm dying to hear what you have to say...

