now is a good time to panic


arab idol
19 March 2012, 11:50 am
Filed under: nonsense | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Before we split up, I got a care package from Steve, and this was in it:

ARAB IDOL. Seriously. Now, I don’t sing. I don’t do ‘happy birthday’, or sing the hymns in church, or even karaoke. I’ve been pretty drunk in my life, but NEVER so drunk that I thought I could sing karaoke. However. I now think about calling the Arab Idol people at least twice a week. I’m dying of curiosity. I did a little research (research = typing ‘arab idol’ into google) and found some stuff. Most of it is written in Farcie, but some is in English, and there’s some weird audition episodes on YouTube. Here’s one for your viewing pleasure. It’s less than 5 minutes. Check it out, because we’re about to discuss.

Arab Idol auditions episode 1

This is why I couldn’t stop watching- in order of appearance.

1. He cannot stop messing with his hair. Combing it, fluffing it, smoothing it. Nothing is helping, and you’re just making it greasier. Stop it.

2. The fanny pack. It’s not just a fanny pack, y’all. It’s so serious, it has a second strap that goes around his thigh. Like he’s wearing a gas mask in MOPP gear. He’s so fly, he doesn’t even tuck the end of the strap in. He just lets that shit dangle.

3. His dancing. Well, make that ‘dancing’. It’s awesome.

4. The looks on the judges faces. None of this is in English, but they’re not exactly being subtle.

5. The judges keep making him stop, then he replies to them and starts back up! Really? You’re embarrassing yourself. Do you not realized this is being taped?

6. More dancing. Still will not quit singing.

7. The judges are LAUGHING AT YOU.

8. He finally stops and hands out flyers of himself to the judges. HE MADE FLYERS.

9. We’re still saying no. Thanks for the flyers, but get the fuck out.

THAT WAS AMAZING. It’s awesomeness crossed language and cultural barriers. Thanks, Steve, for bringing this Pepsi can into my life. It tasted good and opened my eyes to a whole new world. A world of geeky Arab guys humiliating themselves on the interwebs. I don’t know what made you put that in the package, but you’re great, and now I could share it with the blogosphere. :) Hope everyone had a great weekend!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Maybe this dude needs to go on So You Think You Can Dance next! I couldn’t take my eyes off his fanny/thigh pack…and not in a good way. Did you see his teeth? His teeth are AWFUL!!

Comment by triing2survive

hahaha no, i missed the teeth. was too busy staring at his hair- he wouldn’t stop touching it! i almost peed myself when he handed out flyers because i was laughing so hard.

Comment by kathelldorfer

I couldn’t believe he was handing out flyers either. Then we got a close up of the flyer & he’s not even looking in the camera on that picture. Lol.

Comment by triing2survive




I'm dying to hear what you have to say...

