now is a good time to panic


the high road
18 March 2012, 1:06 pm
Filed under: looooove | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

 

Hello everyone! Welcome to the only post that will even have a tiny bit of drama in it :)

 

I’m not a religious person, by any means. I don’t go to church, or even own a bible. If there is some higher power, the two of us are cool with each other. I try to just go along to get along, and treat people well. I was raised (very well, in my opinion), with a clear set of morals and values, and my father and mother made sure to demonstrate to me every single day how I was to expect to be treated by a man.

 

I grew up watching my father trudge outside warm up my mother’s car for her when it was below zero before she had even emerged from their bedroom. He made her breakfast every morning (oatmeal with chocolate soy milk and banana), brewed pots of tea to send to work with her so she could have a hot drink all day, and complimented her cooking and cleaned the kitchen every single night. There were never raised voices or insults in my home, and it’s clear to everyone who meets them that they are perfectly matched, balanced, and deeply in love. There is no doubt in my mind as to what constitutes respect and support.

 

Unfortunately, very few men can measure up to my father. That is okay with me, because I’ve been taught how to weed out the undesirables. Ever since I could talk, my dad had me repeating ‘Men are scum and women are trouble’ to anyone that would listen. This morning he informed me that ‘you’ve gotta eat a lot of crap sandwiches before you find the meat’. That’s a new one to me, but I guess he’s been accumulating pearls of wisdom all these years :)

 

Last month I ended a two and a half year relationship. Things had deteriorated to the point that they simply could not be salvaged, and so I called it quits. I’ve gotten a lot of questions and criticism and hassle about it, but I stand by my decision. I did what was right for me, and as time goes my and my name gets dragged through the mud, it only reinforces that I made the right choice.

 

I’ve been very careful to not talk shit, and to be respectful, but it’s hard. It’s hard when there are accusations thrown to the internet about my character and past actions, and it’s hard to defend myself when love has turned to ugly hatred. I’ve been told several times that my real friends know what kind of a person I am, and will see through how everything is being twisted. I firmly believe that, because I do not become friends with unintelligent people.

 

I hope that whatever situation you are all in right now, whether it be a relationship, a job, a living arrangement, or a family situation, that you demand only the best. We all deserve to be treated well, no matter what. Anything less is unacceptable.   :)

 

xoxo

 

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I don’t believe there is a magic formula for finding love. I do know that honesty, trust and mutual respect for one another are important elements and finding that right person with these values you can share and depend upon takes perseverence and patience. Hang in there; the right person is out there for you.
Mom

Comment by Susan

Listen to Mom she must have this figured out!! Ps Do you think I could get a your Mom to train my husband!

Comment by Kathy

lol I’m not sure, Kathy. She’s been working on my dad for over thirty years, you know :)

Comment by kathelldorfer

I believe everything happens for a reason and to take it as a learning experience. At least you found the strength to get away! You are a good woman and deserve so much better!! I believe now is a good time to learn how to be happy on your own and not depend on anyone else.
P.s Boys are yucky!!! Lol

Comment by Kathy

Good for you for standing firm in what you deserve. I find that too many people settle for something less than what they deserve and that’s not right. Good for you! Hugs!

Comment by triing2survive

Love you. Be strong. Taking the high road sucks, but it’s better than being a shit stirrer or wrangler. I’m just sayin…

Comment by Dawn Montgomery

lol muck up too much shit and you start to smell of it

Comment by kathelldorfer

This is true…then every time you eat…you’ll be eating shit…it’s a terrible horrible cycle of disgust.

Comment by Dawn Montgomery

It’s difficult to make the decision to cash in your chips. You invested a lot and now are only reaping shit. I’m certain you will pull through, rise up, and somebody will be lucky to have you. I don’t regret marrying my horrid ex husband, because every day I spend with Jason is so much better. I could never appreciate him properly without such a rotten person to compare him to. And while my ex wastes his time trying to make excuses, I hardly think of him at all, except to feel sorry for him, cause he had a chance to have me, and he blew it. I’m a great person and so are you.
Love ya.

Comment by Jo




I'm dying to hear what you have to say...

