now is a good time to panic


quick! name five things
14 March 2012, 11:25 am
Filed under: looooove, nonsense, therapy | Tags: , , ,

Hello again, my people! Recently I saw this post here, which stemmed from this post. Normally I scorn feel-good crap like this, but I’ve been making an effort to be more non-judgmental lately. The idea is to post five things that you love about yourself. Not garbage like ‘oh, I love little puppies and that makes me tender and compassionate! I love that I’m tender and compassionate!’. That does not count. We all love puppies. You are not special. That’s too easy, anyway. We’re looking for PHYSICAL attributes. I have a hard time with things like this. It’s so much easier to focus on the negative rather than the positive about ourselves.

I tried to do my five things off the top of my head, and was amazed at how quickly my brain jumped straight to ‘You need to lose weight. Your natural hair color is stupid. You talk too much. Your ass is fat.’ Why should this be so hard? After I forced my brain to shut the hell up, I came up with things like ‘I have a good eye for color and design. I’m creative. I’m mellow and look for the joy in life.’ That’s an improvement, but not what the game calls for. I went back to the posts mentioned above and read through what other people wrote. It was mostly women, and they said things like their feet, legs, hair, lips and nails. Okay. Getting a better idea. What I found really interesting was that only one man posted. Do men not love things about themselves? Are they too lazy to post? Are they watching football and eating steaks and fixing cars instead of reading life-affirming girly blogs? Probably a combination of all the above.

After plenty of thought, I’ve come up with my five things. I feel kind of stupid, but I always compliment other people… maybe it’s time to be nice to myself for once.

1. My eyes. I have my daddy’s eyes, and they’re SO pretty. They’re hazel; green and gold or blue-green depending on my mood and what I’m wearing.

2. My hands. They can cook amazing meals, work on cars, pet my dog, and lift weights. They’re scarred by everything from rottweiler bites to scuba diving incidents, but they’re beautiful.

This is getting a little difficult now…

3. My collarbone and shoulders. Weird, right? You’d think so, but DAMN can I rock a boatneck tee or tank top! I’m almost jealous of MYSELF.

4. My ears. I have a little hole on the side of my left earlobe. I was born with it, and nobody knows what the hell it is. I’ve never met anyone else with one, and I have to admit that I love sticking earring wires in there and feeling around the hollow in my lobe. Just because I’m a freak like that.

This is where I really got stuck. My brain began to list everything negative about me, and I really struggled to come up with one more thing.

5. My tattoos. This might be cheating because I picked them out, but I don’t care. This is MY list, so fuck off. I have a lot of tattoos, and 98% of people have no idea that I’m so massively inked. Every one of them has special meaning to me, and I’ve never felt like I was getting something added to my body when I got them. It feels like I’ve always known they were there, but Taku and Jose made it so that everyone else can see them now, too.

Okay. Done. This post took me a REALLY long time to write. I’d love to read everyone else’s top five things about themselves. Especially the menfolk. Don’t you guys love yourselves? You should, because I love you! Every one of you!

14 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Yeah, the touchy feely stuff can be smarmy….but I’m finding that appreciating what we LIKE (or love) about ourselves goes a long way toward moving us forward.

Love your list! Especially the tattoos.

Comment by Michelle Poston Combs

Thanks, Michelle! I was amazed at how difficult it is to love ourselves. It should be the easiest thing in the world, because I’m pretty freakin awesome. I’m just saying ;)

Comment by kathelldorfer

I loved this blog entry. I so enjoyed what you love most about yourself. One thing you missed, is your positive upbeat way of interacting with others. You never allow those you love and cherish to put themselves down. I can hear your voice in your writing and it comforts me.
xxx
Mom

Comment by Susan

I appreciate that, but what are YOUR five things? They have to be physical, so don’t cheat and talk about how artsy and deep you are. (even though that it pretty loveable about you!)

Comment by kathelldorfer

I love my hair, it’s Irish red and when I was younger, orange; you could pick me out of a crowd. It was not until college that I appreciated the unique nature of redheads, they also gray later in life – so- I save tons of money on hair color.

I can interact in a positive way with people and encourage them – because of my teachery background to develop and explore their talents and interests.

the first thing I do when I meet someone is note their positive qualities and decide how to best relate and make them comfortable. i have easy realltionships with the local butcher and the owner of the convenience store who is related to Dashel Hammett- the Mystery writer.

I do love art- especially art history, music, almost everything- not music that degrades women. Literature that changes me, adds another layer of depth to my character and reminds me of what a wonderful life I live. And cooking as art and good health. I stand before the stove vibrating thinking about how much i enjoy me own cooking.

I hate to fail and avoid it at all costs. when we travel or do the wilderness weekends, I love it all: camp, hike in the woods, sleep in a tent, even in a Mummy bag in the high Andes of Peru. No matter how steep the mountain, I am game and am determined to get to the top and embrace the view. I never turn back and admit failure.

And because I cheated and talked of art and walks in the wildness, here is one more.
I love that my freckles have faded. I did not love them when I was young and pale and they were orange and deep like measles posing as spatters of suntain. I love that no one calls me freckle face any longer.

Comment by Susan

Your list is beautiful, mom! Thanks for playing :) If anyone calls you names, I’ll go beat them up. They’d BETTER not call you freckle face!

Comment by kathelldorfer

I really enjoyed reading this entry and wanted to thank you for sharing it. I think all of your 5 things are very wonderful and they all contribute to making you as unique as you are. That being said, I would like to share my 5 things on here as well. It was really hard to think of physical attributes to present, because I feel that most men are more proud of their non-physical ones more (Loyalty, hard working, etc.). It may be just me, but what the hell. Anyway, here are my 5 things:

1. My eyes- I love my hazel eyes. They can go from hazel to brown or to green depending on the color of clothes that I’m wearing or how I’m feeling at the time.

2. My lips- I think that I have lips that are not to thin or not too thick. I’ve been complimented on them in the past as being ‘very kissable’, so I guess that’s an indication that my lips aren’t too bad.

3. My toes- I never really paid them much attention before, but they look to be pretty symmetrical and uniform. I’m happy I don’t have weird crooked toes or anything. I like that my right middle toes nail is permanently cracked from the time that I dropped the dresser on my toe when I was a teenager. It gives the rest of my toes some character J

4. My Hands- They can hold things, screw in light bulbs, fix stuff and give back massages

5. My smile- I had a really hard time coming up with number 5, but I think that I have a pretty attractive smile. I usually try to make goofy faces in order to hide it, but when it genuinely comes out; I feel its one of my attractive features.

Comment by Steve G

Thanks for balling up to represent the menfolk, Steve. I think that was a great list, and I loved your reasons for each item, also. Was it hard to come up with five things? I had to think overnight about my own list lol

Comment by kathelldorfer

I really was difficult to come up with five things about myself. It took me like half a day to come up with the list of things. For me, it would be a whole lot easier to come up with a list of things for someone else, rather than to talk about myself.

Comment by Steve G

I KNOW, RIGHT?!?! When Kathy read my post I told her five things I loved about her off the top of my head, We’re too nice, obviously. Need to start loving ourselves more and being assholes to everyone else instead of the other way around.

Comment by kathelldorfer

Ya, I think many of us are too concerned about pleasing someone else and making that person happy, while at the same time sacrificing our needs. Sorry for being all homo, but I’ve been learning that we need to love ourselves first, before we can love someone else.

Now that I’ve said that, I need to go fry up a steak or fix a car or something…

Comment by Steve G

LOVE your post!!! 5 things doesn’t sound like alot until you have to come up with 5 physical attributes you like about yourself, huh? Great job! Hopefully you (and me too) can come up with more than 5 things we like about ourselves.

Comment by triing2survive

That is a really hard post. I could easily think of 5 things I love about YOU but me….hmmm.

1. My hands. I have my mom and grandmother’s hands. Even though I’m scarred and stuff, it just shows how far I’ve come. When I’m cooking or putting a band-aid on one of the kids, I can appreciate that piece of my family.
2. My eyes. I’m the only one with green eyes in my family, I just like that they are different.
3. My freckles. Reminds me of all the good times I spent in the water. The ocean is my favorite place on the planet!
4. My butt. I wish it was smaller, but I like the shape. ;)
5. Scraping bottom here on physical attributes, but in the past I have been a victim, and I’m glad that I at least project to others that I will not be fucked with. It’s important.
Great post, Katie. You’re right, it’s damn hard to love ourselves.

Comment by Jo

Jo, I read your list like three times, and it’s wonderful. Thanks for playing, and I think that projecting that certain don’t-fuck-with-me-ness is always a plus for bad ass bitches like ourselves.

Comment by kathelldorfer




I'm dying to hear what you have to say...

