now is a good time to panic


nenes all up in the hizzey!

Let’s talk about birds. Protected birds.

These are Nene Geese. The Nene Goose is Hawaii’s state bird.

 

 

 

 

 

 

picture from Slimbridge Wetland Centre

Cute little guys, huh? There used to be about 25,00 (give or take a few Nene), but since the wild pigs (which sound cute but are not. Not even a little bit.) and mongooses decided to go all genocidal on them (mongooses love Nene eggs; apparently the little guys find them very tasty), their numbers were significantly decreased. I guess that people weren’t really paying attention, because by the early 1950s, they were down to 30. 30 geese. Seriously. 30. After that, Hawaii got their shit together and now the numbers are back up to around 2,000. Getting 2,000 birds from an original 30 is not so easy to do without the repercussions that come along with inbreeding, but I suppose it’s better to have retarded inbred geese running around the islands then to have no geese at all, am I right?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

the natural enemy of the Nene goose

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

also a natural enemy… much less loveable

They only hang out on Maui, Kaua’i, and the big island, so if you want to come to Oahu and see them, you’ll have to go to the Honolulu Zoo. Which is expensive as shit. So be prepared. Including snacks and a visit to the gift shop, you’d better take out a second mortgage on your house before you even leave your hotel.

I’m pretty sure that all of you were wondering about the Nene Goose, and I’m happy I can put your minds at ease. Don’t worry, though- I won’t get all educational on you again any time soon. I’ll lull you into a false sense of security with witty banter for another dozen posts or so before I get all PBS/Reading Rainbow on you again.

 

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That sign is PRICELESS! xoxo

Comment by Dawn Montgomery

Great post! I grew up on Maui and man do I miss it. . . especially when I wake up to snow outside. I also lived in Japan (saw it on your about you page) for four years – mainly in Yokohama, Shizuoka, and Yamaguchi. Also ~ I posted a video of a mashup by The Piano Guys at mainlandkamaainas.com – it will definitely make you think about purchasing a ticket. :)

Aloha~

Comment by homesicklocal

See, when I read “Nene”, I was picturing the Shanay nay character. Girl, you have thrown me for a loop again!

Comment by Jo

I live to make things exciting for you, Jo. :)

Comment by kathelldorfer




I'm dying to hear what you have to say...

