now is a good time to panic


my dog has a crazy eye
7 February 2012, 11:52 pm
Filed under: kaiser the wonderdog, nonsense

Hello my people! So normally my dog looks like this:

 Cute, right? I KNOW!

Well, I woke up and now his poor little face looks like THIS:

Not cute! Please note how sad he looks in the ‘after’ picture. That’s about how sad I looked, too. So I called the vet clinic and they told me that for the bargain price of $54 I can bring him in at 4:00 and they’ll take a look at my little guy. I agreed, and after fighting my way through rush hour traffic we got there like 15 minutes late. Luckily everyone there was super nice and they took care of us right away.

The vet lady stuck a thermometer up Kaiser’s no-no place (which he did NOT appreciate) and then asked me like a hundred million questions about what he eats, what his poops are like, his chew toys, how often we go to the beach or hiking or on walks other than the neighborhood circuit… everything. While we were chatting (by the way, chatting=interrogating, because there were jillions of questions and I felt like I was under a lot of pressure), I realized that my dog has a much more interesting life that I do. Seriously. Well, except for the food. I eat better than Iams kibble. Usually.

So yeah. The vet lady told me that she thinks he got scratched in the face and it got infected. I’m not sure exactly what that has to do with all of the questions I had to answer, but okay. Maybe she was just lonely and wanted to chat. She gave me some antibiotics and some eye goop, and had me make another appointment for next Monday. I’m happy that he’s going to be all right, but let’s break down my charges for this visit.

Exam: $54

Military Discount: -$2.70

Anal Sac Squeezing: $31.95

Medical Waste Fee: $4.50

Eye Goop: $30.50

Nasty Antibiotic Tablets: $18.96

Grand Total: $137.21

Holy crap that’s a lot of money. It was NOT $54! My dog only weighs 12 lbs, so that works out to $11.43/lb. Who knows how much it would have been if he was a St Bernard instead of a Yorkie? I do. It would have been a lot. A LOT. Now Kathy and I get to hold him down twice a day and smear goop in his poor little eye. Also twice a day, he gets a pill that apparantly tastes really disgusting, because we have to disguise it in a piece of cheese. He loves his cheese, though, so he thinks it’s a special treat. Dogs are so stupid.

Word to your mothers.

xoxo

Katie

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You seriously always know how to make my day brighter.

Comment by Abbey

You had me at “anal sac”.

Comment by Jo

you’ve always been easy like that ;)

Comment by kathelldorfer




I'm dying to hear what you have to say...

